My Metawatch Frame & Strata smartwatches

Well Merry Christmas to ME!

First I would like to say I am NOT covering what a smartwatch is.  If you want to know the in’s and out’s of the whole theory of why getting a smartwatch is useful or how to use this smartwatch you can check out this posting by AppleInsider posted on 12/26/12.  I could write for hours on how or why the concept is useful for many people including myself in everyday life.  I am sharing my experience with picking out the MetaWatch and sharing some information I do not see out in the open on this particular watch.  
I will say this watch is compatible with iOS and Android software.  I am saying that because as an iPhone user my choices were limited when it came to smartwatches.  I looked at the I’m Watch which is probably the most expensive smartwatch on the market that does the most. It allows you to respond to text, make calls, use apps etc.  The customer service seems to be horrible along with the lack of information of true compatibility with devices.  I am not looking to replace my phone all together and still carry it around with me.  My other thought was spending $400+ for a watch that isn’t waterproof even though my phone is didn’t make much sense, so I continued my search.  I came across the Pebble watch that seems to have a lot of kickstarters and money invested but no product yet.  (Some of these kickstarters are selling their watches that aren’t even out yet on ebay because they are tired of waiting)  The Pebble looks interesting but should have been out in September…  The FCC just approved the Pebble so it should be out soon, at least to the kickstarters who have been waiting months for it, they deserve it.  I also stumbled upon the G Shock smartwatch pricing starts around $200 and goes well into the mid $300’s via ebay.  It is pretty hard to find as well and I am an avid fan of the G Shock watch.  I own 3 regular baby G shocks currently.  The downfall is that it only gives you an envelope when you have emails and SMS is not compatible with this watch yet.  Next I found the touchscreen Sony smartwatch which seemed very promising until I noticed it isn’t compatible with iPhones.  (if I were an Android user I would look more into this one but the reviews were hit and miss)
Finally finding the MetaWatch and seeing that everything on the site was “Out of Stock” or for “Pre-Order” only was quite disappointing. 
Image
The watch seemed to offer everything I wanted or needed so I researched a little and found their twitter handle @Meta_Watch the CEO is also on twitter @BillG.  I was quite impressed to see the immediate responses to inquiries about the watch and features available and upcoming.  I also found out that some of the watches were indeed selling even though the site said Pre-Order.  (it still says pre-order today)  
I snagged the Blue Camo Strata at that time due to the Frame not being available and I typically prefer having a more rugged watch.  I did priority mail and got the watch in less than a week all things working minus the vibrate… I emailed support and they responded promptly that they would two-day me a replacement and asked if I could mail them back the bad watch once the replacement was received.  All and all this went smoothly and I had a fully functioning Strata within 3 days.  Although I was slightly disappointed about paying the shipping to ship a bad watch back that was no fault of my own, but I was excited to have my new gadget.  So excited in fact that when I found out the Frames had started shipping I ordered one.  This watch I had overnighted… After finding out they were in California from my first order and being I had help paying for this watch (Christmas gift) I figured I would go for it.  Well thanks to good ol’ USPS that watch came in 2 days instead of one.  Of course I had plans for the day it arrived but had family on stand by to receive the watch.  After emailing Metawatch I received a refund on my shipping for this item.
Now that I have most of the bad stuff out the way the good… I really enjoy both of my watches after having each of them at least a week.  The battery power is good (5-7 days), the widgets are pretty good and they keep updating the software.  The Strata I had to update to 1.1 myself when it arrived and it had step by step directions.  The Frame came with 1.1 installed already so it was ready to go.
Sidenotes:  My opinion is that if you have a SMALL wrist the Strata may not be the watch for you.  I had people ask if the watch is heavy. It is not but it is on the wider side, so for those of you who wear their watches closer to the hand it could cause comfort issues.  The Frame is a bit smaller and thinner and you should not so much of an issue.
trio
Both devices have frozen up one time each on me.  One watch it was random the other was due to a ton of text messages (my traffic alerts) coming in at one time.  I figure this isn’t too bad because it is fixable.  If a hard reset of the watch can’t be completed by pressing the middle buttons on each side. (Button B & E) you plug the watch up to the charger or to you computer USB until it hard resets.  Default email alerts are not up and running yet for iOS but should be coming with a future update.  There is a bit of a work around for folks using Gmail that will be in the bonus section below.
Bonus “not so common information” that I did not see online without doing some homework… There is an update for 1.2 software floating around on the internet.  This is more so for the Android folks who have their own Community Edition application for their phones that allow missed call alerts, how many emails you have received since you last checked your phone, and how many text you have not checked to show on the watch screen.  The watch only holds your last alert so this information can be useful but at the same time YOUR WATCH ONLY KEEPS YOUR LAST ALERT RECEIVED.  Without this application I think Android folks still are limited to two widgets so it is worth the update.
Image
Apple people have their perk as well with a slight catch…  You can get notifications from almost any application you have running on your phone.  You are correct the only advertised alerts available are SMS, Calendar, Caller ID, Low Battery and Phone Charged and others such as Facebook, Twitter, and Mail coming soon… So how are you able to get these other alerts you might ask???  
Go into Settings
Image
Then Notifications
Image
Then pick the application you want alerts for…
I use Gmail for alerts since email alerts are not working yet.ImageThe very bottom switch that says “View on Lock Screen” turn this off
Image
Then turn it back on again…
Image
Repeat this for any other applications you want alerts for such as twitter etc.  Remember I told you there is a catch?  The catch is anytime your phones bluetooth is disconnected from the watch you have to repeat this procedure.  It seems like a lot but once you have done it once you pretty much understand it take a few seconds.
ImageImageImage
The vibrate alerts when you have gotten too far away from your phone and disconnected (they claim it is 80 ft) comes in handy for letting you know when you will have to reset these.  I get around the office pretty good without taking my phone with me so I think depending on the environment it may be a bit further than 80 ft. 
charged
And I can only speak for me on this one better battery life… yes a smartwatch that uses bluetooth to connect the phone and the watch gives me better battery life.  I believe it is due to no longer needing vibrate alerts on my phone.  (My wrist vibrates 4 times every time I get an alert)  I gained 2 hours of usage since I started using the MetaWatch.  That annoying vibrate in my ear if I get a text message while I am on a call is gone as well.  Now I can just look at my watch and continue my conversation.  Even if I am on the phone through and alternate bluetooth headset my watch STILL vibrates and gives me my alerts! 
I have trimmed my own screen protector for my Frame and used a Sony smartwatch screen protector for my Strata since they are close in size.  This is not a touchscreen watch but one tiny scratch in the reflective screen e-paper design would be a huge distraction.
I look forward to future software updates and seeing great things from this company.  They are open source and sale separate charging clips especially for people looking to develop. http://www.metawatch.org/developers/  
Any questions feel free to ask!  Thanks for your visit!

15 thoughts on “My Metawatch Frame & Strata smartwatches

  1. T says:

    Great review! Most helpful! Just ordered a black Strata and am looking forward to it. I am just a little worried about the size. Is it bigger than the Somy Ericsson MBW-150?

    • scrumptyous says:

      Hard to say because my screen protector I purchased is for the Sony Model number: MN2SW. The Strata has a wider face than that watch because the sides of the watch go further out than the screen itself. The MN2SW seems to be all screen with no extra buttons and extra width. The watch u compared it to is a round watch and before your post I never heard of it. When I asked size questions I shot a tweet to @Meta_Watch and @BillG responded back. They have a fan page on Facebook as well if you don’t have twitter.

  2. T says:

    Thanx for the prompt reply!
    How about battery life? What is your experience?
    Also, would you go for a swim with the watch?

    Thanx

    • scrumptyous says:

      It varies I don’t wear each watch 5-7 days straight but I would say those estimates are true. Depending on your amount of alerts you should easily get 5 to 7 days out of one charge.

      I would definitely swim in the Strata it is ATM 5 waterproof and the band is made from double injection molded PU co-molded with a PC poly case. The frame I wouldn’t swim in due to the leather band and it only being a ATM 3 waterproof / water resistant watch.

  3. Whisperi says:

    Can the band/strap on the strata be changed to a different band/strap?

  4. jstew182 says:

    Thanks for the review. I am looking into getting a Strata but I am concerned about the strap size. My wrist measure about 8 inches around and Bill with Metawatch said that the strap measures 200mm…though I am not sure if that is the length to the furthest hole in the strap or what. Do you think it would fit? Thanks

    • scrumptyous says:

      I actually think the strap it long my brother has a larger wrist and I even told him he could probably wear one. There are 9 holes in the Strata band. I have a bigger wrist than most of my female friends, I typically get 8 inch bracelets verses the average 7 inch. I use the 5 hole from the watch side. For fun i put it on the last hole and I was able to wedge all 4 of my fingers from my other hand under my wrist.

  5. Ken says:

    I assume that the battery is a lithium polymer type. I have one on order and since I take my watch off at night, I plan to charge it each night. Also, have you noticed unusual blue tooth disconnects? I have a Citizen Eco Drive Proximity and get frequent disconnects, even when the phone is just in my pocket.

    Thanks,

    • scrumptyous says:

      I see no reason to charge it nightly because it last for days and days. I guess I’m one who likes to let my battery do as it should I don’t charge my batteries unless they are dead.

      I seem to stay connected unless I roam away too far from the phone. I’m currently testing out 1.2 software because I now have a galaxy Note 2… it’s not as reliable but it’s not the official release either. So on official software it’s connected 99.9% of the time for me.

      • Ken says:

        The reason I would charge it nightly is because it would lessen the number of cycles on the battery. A lithium polymer battery is only go for so many cycles, so while it is on the charger at night, it wouldn’t be using up any cycles.

      • scrumptyous says:

        A full cycle counts regardless of the way you use it. Two nights of 50% equals a full charge if i go a week I’ve only charged once in 7 days.

      • Ken says:

        While the watch is on the charger the battery is not being used to run the watch. So if the watch is on the charger 8 hours a night then rather than use one full cycle per week (assuming 7 day battery life per week) you end up using only 2/3 of a cycle per week.

  6. Ken says:

    Sorry, that should have been 7 day battery life per charge,not week.

Leave a comment